Senate Bill 1

Public Hearing on Senate Bill 1

Wednesday, February 16, 2011
Hearing Room 1, North Office Building
9:15 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Senate Bill 1, also known as the “Opportunity Scholarship and Educational Improvement Tax Credit Act,” an initiative targeting the Commonwealth’s worst performing schools and most impoverished families.

Please click on links to view testimony.
This will open a PDF file in a new browser.

9:15 – 9:30 AM Chairman Piccola’s Opening Remarks
The Honorable Andrew Dinniman, Democratic Chairman
The Honorable Anthony Williams
9:30 – 10:00 AM Pennsylvania Department of Education
The Honorable Ronald Tomalis, Secretary-Designate
10:00 – 10:30 AM REACH Alliance & Foundation
Otto Banks, Executive Director/REACH
10:30 – 11:00 AM Education Law Center (ELC)
Baruch Kintisch, Director of Policy Advocacy, Senior Attorney
11:00 – 11:30 AM Students First
Joe Watkins, Chairman
11:30 – Noon Break
Noon – 12:30 PM Pennsylvania State Education Association (PSEA)
Michael Crossey, Vice President
12:30 – 1:00 PM Black Alliance for Educational Options (BAEO)
Darlene Callands, President and CEO/Philadelphia BAEO
1:00 – 1:30 PM American Federation of Teachers (AFT) Pennsylvania
Ted Kirsch, President
1:30 – 2:00 PM Center for Education Reform (CER)
Jeanne Allen, President
2:00 – 2:30 PM Pennsylvania Association of School Administrators (PASA)
Richard Fry, Superintendent/Big Spring School District Legislative Committee Chair
2:30 – 3:00 PM The Commonwealth Foundation
Matthew Brouillette, President
3:00 – 3:30 PM Pennsylvania School Boards Association (PSBA)
Thomas Gentzel, Executive Director

Additional Written Testimony

Dr. Leroy Nunery II, Deputy Superintendent
School District of Philadelphia

Mark Miller, Board Director
Centennial School District

Olivia Thorne, President
League of Women Voters

Andy Hoover, Legislative Director

Sharon Cherubin
UNITEPA, Lancaster County

Howie Beigelman, Deputy Director of Public Policy
Orthodox Union

Woodrow Sites, D.Ed., Assistant Executive Director
The PA Association of Rural and Small Schools

Shauna D’Alessandro, West Jefferson Hills School District, Allegheny County
Lawrence A. Feinberg, School District of Haverford Township, Delaware County
Lynn Foltz, Wilmington Area School District, Lawrence County
Mark B. Miller, Centennial School District, Bucks County
Keystone State Education Coalition Co-Chairs

Taimarie Adams
(PCCY)-Public Citizens for Children and Youth

Dona Witmer
Campaign for Liberty, Lancaster County

Jim Vetter
PA Tenth Amendment Center

Dena Sher
Americans United